Les Seychellois

The Seychelles archipelago, located in the Indian Ocean near the equator, comprises around 115 islands and islets, some of which are widely scattered. Most Seychellois live on the main island of Mahé with its small capital Victoria, on Praslin and on La Digue, where everyone seems to know each other. For us European visitors, the Seychellois surprise us at first sight with their diverse appearance. We can hardly get enough of the different colourful skin tones. It is not uncommon to see Breton water-blue eyes flashing from a dark complexion, long eyelashes and full lips adorning sun-speckled faces. African regions far removed from the Seychelles, India, China, Southeast Asia and even the new continent shine out in the faces, the features fused in familiar form and every conceivable combination. © Martina M. Ott

Privacy Preference Center